mardi 22 mai 2007


Well, despite a lack of the official cheese book, we will have to just forge on ahead with the Year of Cheese. If I find it later, I will make updates where necessary.


First up: the Chamois D'Or

"Who doesn't know the cheese "Chamois d'or" ? At least the name! It is a cheese soft and kids love it. I advise you to try it by letting it melt in the microwave or in the oven, on a piece of break. You will see, it is delicious."
Not my words, they have been stolen and translated from a cheese message board by some Cheese Monster.
I don't know, it seemed rather bland to me. I guess it is in the Camembert family. I found some listings saying that it was a good Vegetarian cheese, which left me rather stupified. I thought all cheese, except perhaps those with bacon wrapped around them, were vegetarian? And if not, then hey, I don't want to know.

All in all, a mild cheese, good for basic spreads.

2 commentaires:

Starman a dit…

Vegetarian cheese are made from products other than milk. Soy is the most often used ingredient, but there are others.

Mlle Smith a dit…

Generally, "real" vegetarians shy away from anything made from animal by-products. If it's made from milk, eggs, etc...then it's not considered vegetarian.

Blog Archive

Libellés

Favorite Posts